Aiyegbeni named among Everton’s fastest goal scorers - TrendyNewsReporters Aiyegbeni named among Everton’s fastest goal scorers - TrendyNewsReporters

Aiyegbeni named among Everton’s fastest goal scorers

Former Super Eagles striker, Yakubu Aiyegbeni, continues to make a mark beyond his active days at Everton after making the list of Top 10 quickest goals scored by the Toffees in the English Premier League.

Following Dwight McNeil’s goal after 35 seconds in their clash against Brentford last weekend, the club released a video compilation of the Top 10 fastest goals in their history on YouTube, with Aiyegbeni coming at 10th, as well as being the only Nigerian who played for the Toffees to have also recorded such goal.

Aiyegbeni’s opener after 47 seconds in Everton’s 3-1 win over his former employers Portsmouth at Goodison Park on March 2, 2008 was the goal that earned him the spot.

In Everton’s history in the Premier League, only nine players have managed to score quicker goals than the Super Eagles legend.

The fastest ever was recorded by John Ebbrell, who netted in the 23rd second against Wimbledon on January 1, 1996.

Completing the top 10 are Tom Davies, Romelu Lukaku, David Unsworth, Dwight Mcneil, Olivier Darcourt, Dominic Calvert-Lewin, Kevin Campbell and Nick Barmby.

Everton’s Goodison Park stadium has been a home away from home for Nigerian footballers, as the players etched their names in the history of the Merseyside club.


Graphic Designer/ Content Writer

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button

Get premium latest news For Free