In Search of Peace, Soludo Sets Up Committee to Unravel Cause of Agitation in South-east – TrendyNewsReporters
Latest news

In Search of Peace, Soludo Sets Up Committee to Unravel Cause of Agitation in South-east

Anambra State governor, Prof. Chukwuma Soludo has set up a committee to unravel the true cause of armed struggle in the south-east, which has heightened insecurity in the region and led to loss of lives and property.

The committee is to be headed by Prof. Chidi Odinkalu, with Ambassador Bianca Ojukwu as secretary is termed – Truth, Justice and Peace Committee.

Secretary to Anambra State Government, Prof. Solo Osita Chukwulobelu, who in a signed press statement disclosed this reeled out terms of reference to the committee.

It explained: “The purpose of the Committee on Truth, Justice, and Peace is to seek a restorative justice approach for truth-telling or real facts, for the healing of the victims of the violence.

“Accounting for responsibility and accountability of the actors, conditional mercy for the repentant perpetrators, restitution for certain losses and rehabilitation of the perpetrators, for the overall aim of restoration of peace and justice as well as the promotion of development in the State, and the region/Nigeria.

“Terms of Reference for the Committee are: to identify the remote and immediate causes of the agitations, restiveness, violence, and armed struggle in the South East since 1999.

“Document victims/circumstances of death, brutality and incarceration, identify stakeholders and groups who have played critical roles in the agitations and conflicts, their roles, capabilities and demands.

“Address any other issue(s) that may be germane to unravelling the extent of the crisis and charting the roadmap for the future and make recommendations for sustainable peace and security in Anambra state/Southeast.”

It further stated that the committee shall have a direct reporting line to the governor, and would be provided with administrative support to perform their duties, and shall conclude its work no later than 6 months from its inauguration.

Meanwhile, other members of the committee include: Dr. Joe Nwaorgu, Dr. Udenta Udenta, Dr. Uju Agomoh, Rev. Fr (Msgnr) Jerome Madueke and Canon Dr. Okechukwu C. Obi-Okoye.

The others are Mr. Charles Oputa (Charly Boy), Dr. John Otu, Mr. Ngozi Odumuko, Ms. Onyeka Onwenu, Dr. Joe Abah, Mr. Chukwuma Okpalaezeukwu, Mr. Sam Egwuatu and Prof. Joseph Ikechebelu.


Graphic Designer/ Content Writer

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button